Contact Us

Our Locations

  • The Literacy Council of Reading-Berks
    The Joan M. Breisch Adult Learning Center (headquarters)
    35 South Dwight Street
    West Lawn, PA 19609
    610.670.9960
    Monday, Wednesday, and Friday – 8:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.
    Tuesday and Thursday – 8:00 A.M. – 9:00 P.M.
  • Muhlenberg Elementary Center
    610 Sharp Avenue
    Laureldale, PA 19605
    610.670.9960
    Monday and Wednesday – 6:00 P.M. – 8:30 P.M.
  • Historic Trinity Lutheran Church, Reading
    527 Washington Street
    Reading, PA 19601
    610.670.9960
    Monday – Thursday – 9:30 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.
  • Reading Public Library, Southeast Branch
    1426 Perkiomen Avenue
    Reading, PA 19602
    610.655.6669
    Tuesday and Thursday – 6:30 P.M. – 9:00 P.M.

Board Officers – 2019 – 2020

The Literacy Council of Reading-Berks is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

President – Jason Brudereck, 2020*
Director of Communication
Berks County Community Foundation

Vice President – Emily L. Hershey, 2021*
Teacher
Wilson School District

Secretary –  Megan Adukaitis, 2022*
Director, Office of Career Development
Alvernia University

Treasurer – Terry Grassley, 2022*
Vice President-Chief Operating Officer
Bank of Bird-in-Hand

Board of Directors

Bridget Cambria, Esq., 2021*
Attorney-at-Law
Cambria & Kline, PC

James Elliker, 2020
Doctoral Student in Leadership Studies
Alvernia University

Dr. Roula S. Elliker, 2020
Gifted Support Teacher
Muhlenberg School District

Sumati Gopal-Gera, 2022
Assistant Vice President/Branch Manager
First National Bank

Ronald J. Hunsicker, 2021
Retired

Jacqueline M. Kline, Esq., 2021*
Attorney-at-Law
Cambria & Kline, PC

Dr. Arlene Otis, 2022
Retired, Berks County Intermediate Unit

Sonya Smith, 2020
Assistant Director, Grants and Sponsored Projects
Kutztown University

Pat Snyder, 2021*
Office Manager
C. Malcom Smith, CPA

Denise Strohmayr, 2022
Assistant Professor
Reading Area Community College

James Wood, 2020
Vice President, Sales
Penske

* – member must leave Board for one year upon expiration of term

Administrative Staff

Ryan A. Breisch – Executive Director, x105
ryan@lcrb.org

Laurie Dawkins – Associate Director-Workplace Learning, x104
laurie@lcrb.org

Beverly Hirneisen – Case Manager, x103
bev@lcrb.org

Wendy Rio – Data Entry Coordinator, x100
wendy@lcrb.org

Patricia Rittenhouse – Volunteer Coordinator, x102
pat@lcrb.org

Lily Ponce – Administrative Assistant, x101
lily@lcrb.org

Ramona Turpin – Workforce Development Coordinator
ramona@lcrb.org

Instructional Staff

Don Bickel

Chris Evanschris@lcrb.org

Susan Fineman – sue@lcrb.org

Nancy Graffnancy@lcrb.org

Elisa Hammes elisa@lcrb.org

D. Ed Saseked@lcrb.org

Pamela Sonon – pam@lcrb.org

Kim Zientekkim@lcrb.org